Laws & trade agreements

International agreements

The Government of Alberta is a party to one international trade agreement, with more being negotiated.

On February 16, 2010, Canada and the United States agreed to offer each other market access under the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on Government Procurement (GPA). Currently the agreement covers 15 parties comprising of 43 WTO members:

  • Armenia
  • Canada
  • The European Union, with its 28 member states
  • Hong Kong
  • China
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Korea
  • Liechtenstein
  • The Kingdom of the Netherlands with respect to Aruba
  • Norway
  • Singapore
  • Switzerland
  • Chinese Taipei
  • United States

Another 28 WTO members participate in the GPA Committee as observers.

The aim of the Agreement is to open up as much of government procurement as possible to international trade and competition, while ensuring proper transparency and governance. However, only certain goods, services and construction are covered, and only when the purchases are over a certain amount.

WTO GPA website

Contact this service


8:15 am - 4:30 pm (Monday to Friday, closed statutory holidays)

Related services

Opening New Markets